Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there everyone. I just got a job at a local music store as a band and orchestra sales person. This is great because I've always wanted a job like this. The one thing that concerns me is that I'm a sax player and I have little to no experience in other instruments except guitar. I'm doing research on my own to prepare, but it's always good to get extra help
So to get to the point. How do I help fellow saxophone players as well as other instrumentalists, such as what questions should I expect and what questions should I ask?
Thanks in advance.:treble:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,033 Posts
Go to a Comm College and take an Instrumental Tech course where they train band directors to teach the various instruments. Take catalogs home and learn the accessories and ask questions as to their use. When a road salesman comes in from the factories and distributors, ask them questions. Finally, don't give out advice that you aren't voiced in....know when you are not prepared. What store are you working for as I sold horns to dealers in NC years ago.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
25,981 Posts
So to get to the point. How do I help fellow saxophone players as well as other instrumentalists, such as what questions should I expect and what questions should I ask?
Depends. Do you get paid by commission?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,033 Posts
I remember when I started in Music retail, I had to go to a school and do a rental program for stringed instruments. First time I ever held a violin! Within a year, I was an expert!
Listen to others and compile your info...
After a year I was head buyer for the chain and then left to go on the road selling flutes and educating the guys at the store counters. Someday you will be passing along your knowledge too.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5