Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone
i'm going to be a little straight forward but i want to know wich mouthpiece would you recommend to me for an alto player or wich mouthpiece is better suited to Alto saxes . by the way i prefer something cheaper cause i'm just a university student who still doesnt have much money .

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
What player most clearly exemplifies the kind of sound you want? Do you have a link to his playing, YouTube for example?
Are you playing in any school ensembles? What kind?
Your question, considering the wide range of alto sounds, is too broad. If you could narrow it down, that would be to your benefit.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah true ... well i play mostly reggae and blues and some latin music and rarely jazz so what would you recommend for me ?
i've been playing since almost two years now ...

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,497 Posts
OK, so...you front an electric band, or are in a horn section of an electric band. So you don't want a 'dark' sorta mouthpiece (one which boosts the low and low-midrange overtones while controlling the high reediness)...because those won't likely project or cut enuff for you. Am assuming you want something with some bite and some growl.....

What's your horn ?

Here are a few relatively inexpensive (under $80) options:

Runyon Customs ~ always get high marks as a good lead alto m'piece (they don't work well on a lotta vintage horns, though). saxplus.com has a closeout sale on the amber colored ones for $55....that's a pretty good deal.

Hite Artists ~ Hite Premiers are cheaper, but much darker sounding. The Artists have more edge and pop.

Beechler diamonds ~ very well-balanced, punchy.....

Those off the top of my head.