Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm a high school student who has been looking into changing up my mouthpiece set up. I've been playing a modern day selmer soloist that I had opened up to about a 6* for the past several months, and I've had a lot of enjoyment with it's mellow dark tone. But now I'm looking for something a little more husky and powerful, something I can't quite get with the soloist. I've been looking into the modern day otto link new york, and I was wondering if I should stick to a 6* tip opening if moving to metal for the first time or if I should get something smaller or larger. Or if you have any suggestions for pieces I should look into. (Sorry if I'm putting this in the wrong spot on the forum, I'm still a little confused how to navigate it sometimes)

Much thanks,
Cole C

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Any chance you're in reasonable distance to a music store where you could try various mouthpieces with your sax?

I'm in a similar position as you, but there's a store where I can play-test mouthpieces.

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,592 Posts
Alto or Tenor?
The post is in the Bb Tenor subforum...

If you want to switch to metal that’s cool, but don’t limit yourself to just metal pieces because of a sound you want. Try whatever you can, plenty of non-metal pieces that’ll do the trick.
Do you have a lesson teacher? Try what they have. Try whatever your section mates are playing too.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,962 Posts
Hello all,