Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started with Yamaha 5c. It was fantastic. I moved to the Hite Premier. Wow what a great difference. Much fuller, rounded sound. The Yamaha now sounds narrow, focused, but less pleasing. The Hite sounds good. And yes I could stay with it for a while and will, but what else is out there that I am missing? I cannot play a hard reed yet. A 3 has my cheeks sore before I finish a tune (I start every practice using a 3 playing scales until I tire). Even a Rico 2 is too hard until I scrape it to my playing level.
Having said that, I still would like to move on to a different piece, maybe with a .095 opening approximately(I believe the Hite opening is .085. My reading here indicates that ending with a .115 would be a normal place. I understand that it is the baffles that really make the difference, but I only understand the words not the effects.
Yes I am a beginner posting in the beginner forum. It is very likely that other beginners may read this. What are your comments addressing the above?

·
Registered
Alto sax, Tenor sax, Clarinet
1,356 Posts