Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a high school student looking to buy a good, bright bari piece for jazz ensemble. I have a V16, but it’s only a b5, and is a bit to dark for my liking. I have been playing my teacher’s Berg 110/2 sms, and love the piece, but from what I understand, the new models are wildly inconsistent, and often don’t even work out of the box. I am currently between the RPC high baffle, the Arnold Montgomery Aras, and the Francois Louis Spectruoso. If anyone has any experience with any of these pieces, or know another to try, I would appreciate it greatly!

·
Registered
3,715 Posts
You might want to start by trying a V16 B7 which will give you a tip opening closer to the .110 Berg ( assuming the Berg is correctly sized which there's no guarantee of) as well as a similar design medium baffle and bullet chamber.

Of the pieces you have listed I'd take the RPC every day of the week and twice on Sunday. I've played a handful of FL tenor and bari pieces and didn't like any of them and the one Montgomery bari piece I tried I didn't care for at all either though I'm sure there are fans of both out there. Ron makes great bari pieces and you can call him and tell him exactly what you are looking for. By all accounts he's very very good at translating customers verbal descriptions into pieces that play they way they want.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I’d still go to a shop and try a whole lot of modern bergs out! Yes you’re right they are super inconsistent, but there are still good ones. I’ve found the modern metal ones to be a little more consistent though, so keep that in mind!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
708 Posts
Phil-tone Impulse

Designed around the berg concept
I think he's asking for a baritone piece though, unless you've started making the Impulse for baritones too?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
12,707 Posts