Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm using a mouthpiece that works nicely for me on jazz and pop, a Morgan Excalibur 6. I recently changed back from 4 Fibracell reeds because I'm working at altissimo and get a better response out of cane reeds, at least for now while I'm just beginning altissimo. For cane, I tried 2.5 Red Java, because I had them sitting around. They pop altissimo nicely, but they are too buzzy for the more classical stuff I sometimes play. I tried 3 Green Javas, as possibly being middle of the road, but they seem too hard to get a response out of on this mouthpiece for me. The whole hassle of blowing in cane reeds may be part of the problem. I don't seem to be good at adjusting them with 400 grit sandpaper or scraping.

If I switched to Blue Box 2.5, would those work OK on this large of an opening, do you think? Should I try Java Green 2.5s? Something else?

·
Grafton + TH & C alto || Naked Lady 10M || TT soprano || Martin Comm III
29,877 Posts
If I switched to Blue Box 2.5, would those work OK on this large of an opening, do you think? Should I try Java Green 2.5s? Something else?
It's not a very large opening and besides, any make of reed can work on any tip opening if it suits the player. I would recommend you try something else anyway, a good synthetic, such as the Légère Signature.

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks!

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks! I have ordered a Legere Signature, but I have a feeling I would also like the option of cane reeds. It can't hurt to have both in my arsenal. I appreciate someone taking time to let me know the cane options.

·
Registered
306 Posts
When I was playing a Morgan 6L I used Rigotti 3.5 strong to put some brightness back into the dark character of the Morgan. Blue box vandos were my first choice for a darker reed, probably 2.5-3 strength.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-