Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
8,190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Link Tone Master 8NY and my teeth have worn through the black plastic pad an into the mouthpiece. Although it plays OK with my teeth on the brass, I figure I should have it fixed.

Who does the best job of repairing that?

Any other advice?

I've never had to do this in all my years of playing.

Thanks,
Notes

·
Registered
3,866 Posts
Mojo can do it I believe. If they don't have a direct replacement bite-plate piece they can use an old/cheap plastic mouthpiece as a surrogate to harvest a piece of plastic from of about the right size and shape. Or, in some cases they build something up in layers using some sort of material that flows a bit like an epoxy. Whether they just fill the hole in or replace the entire bite-plate depends upon how bad it is. Once fixed you should consider using mouthpiece patches ;)

·
Registered
2,590 Posts
This happened to me a long time ago. I used some stuff I got at the hardware section of Canadian Tire. I guess an epoxy of some kind. I just filled in the piece, let it dry and smoothed it with sandpaper. Worked fine.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
39,480 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,755 Posts
They come in 'thin-clear' which is the favorite of many and it still protects your mouthpiece.

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,962 Posts
I believe the OP is referring to the bite plate, not a mouthpiece patch.
Sure is, but given that he chiseled down to the brass a pad might be a good idea. I also prefer the clear thin ones. There are some I got one time that were much tougher/ more rigid material...might be better for someone who has this issue.

·
Registered
3,078 Posts