Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All;

I am new to the saxaphone and have only been taking lessons on tenor for 2 months. I have been having a lot of difficulty getting notes which require the use of the octave key. My instructor can hit them so it's not a problem with the horn, it's all me. My instructor advises that I may want to look at getting a better mouthpiece. I searched though the strings on mouthpiece advice and I don't want to ask, "what's the best mouthpiece for a ....?" but I could use some help with the sizing variences to help in finding a better one.

I downloaded a chart from saxaphone.org which lists tenor saxaphone mouthpieces from various manufacturers and their various sizes. (65 to 130) The website states that the the sizes indicates the opening. Would that be the tip opening and is that to mean the gap between the tip and the reed? More importainly what I would like to know, if possible, is if someone can shed some light on how the sizing effects the playability by which I mean easier or harder for beginners. Are there any other considerations or variences that I should be concerned about. Like I said I am really green here. I'm not looking at refining my sound for a darker tone, a lighter tone ,a brighter tone or a jazzier tone. All I'm looking for at this point is a consistant tone with fewer squeeks, shrieks, overtones and other rude sounding noises.

And actually the same question can be applied to reeds.