Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been on a mouthpiece search for what seems like forever (3 years).
I'm a junior in college and I play in jazz bands, but I'm not a jazz major. I am majoring in music ed with an emphasis in classical tenor saxophone. I play alto sax in a combo and I take jazz lessons. I have been told so many times that my sound is too bright. No matter what I do I'm too bright.
I currently play a meyer 6m with a rovner dark ligature. I have tried so many different reed strengths (ranging from 2-3.5) and types (vandoren blue, zz, v16, java, gonzales, rico reserve, rico jazz select, and so on...). I have a rovner light ligature and several metal ligatures and none of them help to darken my sound.
I work on overtones and subtones to darken my sound and I also do mouthpiece exercises. None of those things have really helped.
I have tried a number of mouthpieces (metal link, hr link, vandoren java, vandoren v16, runyon metal, meyer metal, selmer c*, classical rousseau, rico metallite, stock yanagisawa, metal jody jazz chi, sr tech legend, and claude lakey).
The only mouthpieces that I liked out of all of those have been the Vandoren V16 A6 and the SR Tech Legend. I wouldn't say that they darkened my sound by much, I just think they made my lows more rich and allowed an even tone throughout all registers of the horn and they were both very easy to blow.
I sound super dark and rich on my rascher mouthpiece, but I can't use that for jazz because there is no projection.
I'm not looking for a sound so dark that I get lost in the ensemble or have to blow my brains out to be heard... I want a dark, warm sound with depth.
My favorite saxophonists to listen to are Desmond and Phil Woods.
Could I get some suggestions on how to make my tone darker and more rich?
I think that it has to do with my set up and the fact that I haven't found the right match for myself.