Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.

I am looking for a new Tenor Saxophone mouthpiece to help support me with my playing. I am unhappy with the tone and sound quality produced by my current one, which is the one that was included in my sax when I bought it a couple of years ago. The mouthpiece makes certain notes that are already predisposed to stuffiness even worse- for example middle D.

The saxophone I am using right now is a Trevor James Classic Horn. I have been playing saxophone for around seven years.

I am currently playing a mixture of classical sax music for my grades and big band music with my bands, so I need a good all rounder mouthpiece that will help me access the higher and lower registers of the horn easier and produce a better sound.

If anyone has any recommendations, they would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
299 Posts
I've found Morgan Mouthpieces to be of good quality and reasonably priced. Currently using a 5 C on tenor. This is thier classical model. I use it for concert and big band and find it to be very flexible...

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
7,356 Posts
I've found Morgan Mouthpieces to be of good quality and reasonably priced. Currently using a 5 C on tenor. This is thier classical model. I use it for concert and big band and find it to be very flexible...
Roy Styffe sounds great on his Morgan Mouthpieces.

·
Registered
397 Posts
With 7 years under your belt, you can probably call yourself intermediate, rather than beginner. Great idea to graduate to the next mouthpiece.

1). If you are in a location that has music shops, at which you can try out mouthpieces, I would recommend going to a shop and trying some (a bunch) out. Every mouthpiece is quite personal.

2). If you have to mail-order, you might consider mpc reviews at neffmusic.com I don’t know the exact URL, but you can Google it.