Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I bought a Buescher TT soprano and love the tone on it. I am new to soprano, mainly playing tenor, but this instrument seemed to play beautifully in tune with itself straight out of the box. Only trouble was that when I checked with a tuner I found I was playing a full semitone flat with the mouthpiece halfway down the cork. I've since read that with these saxes its normal to have to push the mouthpiece right on to the cork to get the tuning right. When I do this I can tune the sax up to where it should be but the mouthpiece is pushed just beyond the cork and the top of the body tube is approaching the level of the bottom of the window inside the mouthpiece.

Is it normal for the piece to have to be so far on with these horns? I hope that the sax is not a bad one as its a beautiful instrument.

I have been using a Drake Son of Slant mouthpiece with the TT and have been happy with the sound, just not the pitch!!.

Thanks for your advice! Tony

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
As long as you're clearing the octave pip, I wouldn't worry about it. Different pieces and players will have different results, but it's not at all unusual for a modern mouthpiece (med chamber/significant baffle) piece to have to be pushed further on to the neck than you might be expecting.

I'm using Morgan Vintage 6 on mine. It swallows most, but not quite all of the cork, leaving about 2mm (<1/8") of the cork exposed.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
26,202 Posts
Soprano takes a tighter lip. That being said, I have come across at least one TT soprano that was hopelessly flat no matter how far you pushed the mouthpiece in. But since yours has room to tune, I wouldn't worry about it for now. As you develop a tighter lip for the horn, you may eventually need to pull out.

·
Registered
1,166 Posts