• Yes

Votes: 424 84.3%
  • Not

Votes: 79 15.7%
1 - 20 of 216 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Yes. For basic comfort, to isolate the teeth a bit from vibration and my front teeth are not perfectly even.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,127 Posts
For both comfort and stability, a patch gives me a nice foundation for my teeth so I'm not slipping around. And I normally go for the thicker black patches as opposed to the thinner clear patches.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
3,286 Posts
Yes. I don't bite hard, but have sharp front teeth that wear down a mouthpiece over time. I'd rather just use a patch. And I find them just slightly more comfortable, though not much.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2017
6,086 Posts
There was no "Whatever" option on the poll....I used tham when I started playing again after many years but I think I was biting way too hard. After a few rounds of patches I just kind of gave up on them. I guess I could take them or leave them.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
5,160 Posts
It not only provides more comfort but protects the mouthpiece. It's win win in my case.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
Usually no. I don't really rest my upper teeth on the mouthpiece that much. The only exception is my metal Goldbeck for alto. It has no tooth plate. It's just solid metal so I use a patch to avoid the vibration on my upper teeth.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,202 Posts
No for hard rubber pieces.
Yes on my crystal clarinet mouthpieces. And then only the very thin clear ones.
I don't like the way they feel on my upper lip.

·
Registered
1,025 Posts
Yes, as said above, it's a win-win. I don't bite hard, but one of my teeth has a rough surface, apparently, causing scratches even with light pressure.