Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, it's my first time posting here. I'm going to start learning the alto saxophone and bought myself a vintage conn 6m that did not come with a mouthpiece. After doing my research and based on what's available locally where I'm at, I have narrowed down my choice to the Rico Graftonite B3 or B5. The B3 has a tip opening of 0.70 while the B5 has an opening of 0.80. Both have the same medium chamber.

My questions are:
1) What would be the difference between these two mouthpieces given that they are identical in every way except the tip opening?
2) I have read that larger tip openings produce "more sound" or "bigger sound". Does that only mean a louder volume or does it also imply some other tonal characteristic?
3) Finally, some people complain that the B3 is "too closed" for them when they started out, what does having a "too closed" opening actually mean?

Thank you!

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,840 Posts
welcome to sax on the web

A more open mouthpiece would normally be used for a better playing comfort ( depending on the strength of the reed used) but , depending on your embouchure, it may also indeed deliver a bigger souns , yet you are talking of rather closed mouthpieces with a really small interval, so there is not a huge difference there.

The bigger sound is a relative thing. You may use an opening that is too big for you and that you cannot manage therefore you won’t be able to play softly in the low register, then you have two ways, either you scale down the mouthpiece size or you try a different, lighter, reed. But playing light reeds on a large opening (I do) is not for everyone, requires a lot of control and reeds wear out quickly.