Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
803 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've probably tried 50-60 different alto mpc's since I started playing 20 years ago. Lakey, Beechler, Bari, Link, Ponzol, Selmer, RIA, Brillhart, Rosseau, SR Tech, VanDoren, Dukoff, etc. - you name it, I probably tried it. I ended up sticking with the rubber Meyer 7M, and that has been my mpc. for the last 12 years.

Try as I might to find something better, I never could, and always went back to the Meyer. My most recent attempts to replace the Meyer included the Jody Jazz ESP, Runyon Jaguar, Runyon Custom Jazz, Jody Jazz Classic. I've always been looking for something that is Sanborn-like, without sounding shrill, but yet having a bit more bite and edge than a standard rubber piece. I like the idea of playing a metal mpc, but have never found one that works as well for playing various styles as the Meyer, or was as comfortble to play or practice with as the Meyer. In addition, I always felt the Meyer allowed me to produce a sound that was pure - by that I mean a sound that was a result of the combination of my horn, and me - the true sound of the saxophone plus my playing techinque - rather than a sound derived from the mouthpiece itself.