Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post and I am not exactly sure how this works but, here go's.
I am a rookie tenor palyer (about 2 years) and bought a Conn "Ladyface" 1956 and have 3 mp's. One is Brillhart #3 the other a Brillhart #5 the last is a Brillhart (white) with a serial # 17957, it has a hairline crack. My first teacher told me I should use the #5 and my first year and 1/2 as I was getting to know the instument and the basics of playing was good. Now I have chance to hook up with some Blues players and have serious problems with low D. Any suggestions? Can the hairline crack be repaired? The original owner who was about 80 when he sold the Ladyface to me, always played the white mp and he played mostly clubs and bigband stuff. In addition I live on Vancouver Island but travel to the lower U.S. several times a year, so I could drop the white mp off at a repair shop. But my bigger concern is the low D problem, as I jam again in about 5 days. I will appreciaite any help. Thanks
Will

·
Administrator
13,985 Posts
Hi Will,

Welcome to the SOTW Forum.

I moved this post from the thread you had it tacked on to, and created a new thread for it.

Where it was, it was highly unlikely to get the attention and responses you were hoping for.

Cheers.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,487 Posts
you are unlikely to get it repaired, it would be easier to buy a new brilhart of the same model and facing, or go mouthpiece shopping, try loads and loads, some beechlers which i believe are fairly brilhartish.

good luck

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,024 Posts
will williams said:
Now I have chance to hook up with some Blues players and have serious problems with low D. Any suggestions?
Will