Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm hoping one of the seasoned/experienced players could maybe help with this.

I have been playing the Alto Sax now for about 8 months. I am playing a brand new (at the time) YAS-26 and am using a new Yamaha
4C mouthpiece.When I first started I was using a Rico "Orange Box" 2.5. I could only play for about 10-15 minutes before my embouchure was too
tired to get a note out. I went back to a 2.0 as it felt more comfortable, was a lot easier for me to play, and I could play for longer.

Fast forward to today.....
Now I can usually play/practice for roughly an hour before my embouchure gets tired enough to want to put the horn down for a break but I have noticed lately that about 1/2 HR in to my practice session, the reed starts to sound stuffy and gets
unresponsive. I have tried with 3 different new reeds out the same box, and they all end up doing the same thing. Excess moisture in the mouthpiece or the bow is not the issue.

I have tried stepping up to the "Orange Box" 2.5 and my tone seems to sound better and the reed is a lot more responsive, but I find I'm still having to work a lot harder and my embouchure gets tired a lot faster.
My questions are.....
Should I stick with the 2.0 in these early stages ?
Should I step up to the 2.5 to keep my embouchure working to build on strength ?
Should I stick with the 2.0 and maybe step up to the 5C facing ? Or is this too early ?

Thanks in anticipation,
AltoNoob

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Pete,
What I meant was excess moisture in the end of the mouthpiece, I didn't even think about excess moisture in the reed. I didn't think it was possible to have a reed that was too wet, unless we were dunking our mouthpieces in glasses of water......
I'll check it for flatness next time it starts to get unresponsive.