Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm currently at a cross road trying to purchase a mouthpiece for my tenor sax.

I've been playing for about 6 years. I love a well rounded tone. Something that's full and rich and even on all octaves ( I know that I have a large role to play here)

I cur5rently own a Julius Keilwerth Ex-90 series III horn (black and gold)

I've gone through a lot of threads and I'm considering the following:

1. Otto Link Metal New York Series (7)
2. Guardala MBII
3. Otto Link New Vintage (7)

Should I be looking at any other options??

I really need to know your thoughts.

Thanks a mill in advance.

NB: I do not have the luxury of visiting shops to test these. We really do not have these shops in my country. I'm looking at buying from wwbw.

·
Registered
4,140 Posts
Hi Efsax. That's a pretty wide spectrum from the Guardala to the Otto Link NY.

Well that Keilwerth may be a dark horn since you're going with WWBW maybe you can try 2 or 3 at once if you have the room on your card.

Maybe take a look at the Vandoren V16 T 75. I've read good things about it on here. Don't settle for the T77 though.

Theo Wanne has some nice looking mouthpieces. Expensive though. Looks like he has a new model out half the price of most of his other ones. Didn't want to try the Wannes . Cause if I liked them. I would be trying to sleep at night thinking about them. I have held them in my hand. About five of the metal ones.

Also look at Ponzol ML . Never tried Peter's mouthpieces. Haven't talked to him in years. Nice guy though and a great player.

The Yanigasawa may interest you. Now this one I tried. Ok I guess.