Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All:

I apologize if this question has been asked a million times...

But here goes:
I have what I believe is the least expensive Antigua soprano sax, (serial number begins with YS) and I'm interested in obtaining a mouthpiece other than the one that came with it. I need it to be least expensive as possible, but also a step up from the mouthpiece that came with it. I have no experience in this matter, so any numbers, specifications, diameter issues, etc., would be a foreign language to me.

I hear Runyon might be good. But do you all have any ideas as to brand and specifications that might be helpful?

Thanks in Advance,
Ang

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Ang: Welcome to SOTW. Yes, the question has been asked MANY times, but I don't recall it being directed specifically at your model Antigua. Is the horn a 586/590 model (detachable dual neck), or is it the fixed-neck 582?

Either way, my 590 is mouthpiece friendly. I've found that all of the soprano pieces I like work just as good on my 590 as they do on any of my other sopranos (vintage to modern).

Many will probably weigh in with their favorite mouthpieces but that does you no good, really. My experience shows me that most pieces others recommend don't work AT ALL for me. My recommendation is to get yourself and your horn to a well-stocked store and try a bunch. OR, order up a few (WW&BW is a good source - their catalog will show pricing, too), work with them, then return all that don't play for you.

Finally, most of the Antiguas I've played have really thick neck-corks. Make sure you shove whatever mouthpiece you are trying far onto the cork and tune the horn before testing. A flat horn will sound bad regardless of the mouthpiece you use. DAVE

·
1,001 Posts