Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I've been playing a 1947 Conn Ladyface for many years and I'm very interested in buying a Cannonball. Have you more than one horn, or should I keep both horns?

Thanks!

Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
there are many, many members here with many more horns than just the one. There may be reasons of sound, affection, hoarding, or collecting, whatever, but you will be the only person qualified. I personally would keep both unless money is tight.

Enjoy!

Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
Hi,
I've been playing a 1947 Conn Ladyface for many years and I'm very interested in buying a Cannonball. Have you more than one horn, or should I keep both horns?

Thanks!
Yes, I have more than one horn - but that鈥檚 after playing for 50+ years. I don鈥檛 think that I owned a second tenor until after I was 30-something.

If you have been playing the 10M for many years, I suggest you first get it overhauled. You may be surprised at just how great it can be.

Play a Cannonball before you buy one. I have played several belonging to my students, and don鈥檛 care for them. There are a lot of great horns on the market these days.

Distinguished SOTW Member.
More than one tenor since I was 21 years old and that was a long while ago -- I have quite a few tenors, now.

Never played a Cannonball saxophone of any size .

If you end up liking both hang on to them.. I've always enjoyed switching around . Mouthpieces, too !

Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone