Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a self-taught amateur musician. Several years ago I formed a sax quartet and we do local gigs like weddings, Christenings, garden parties and the like. On several of our gigs we've been asked to play some well-known local tunes, of which there are several, so I've embarked on a project to arrange half a dozen local tunes for the quartet. I'm getting there and they're sounding pretty good on the computer so far but I'm stuck when it comes to modulating from the end of one tune into the next.

I asked a guitar playing friend of mine about this and if I give him two key signatures he can tell me how he would get from one to the other. For instance I tried him with getting from the key of D major to the key of A major and quick as a flash he said he would go D>Bb>E7>A. I said, OK, how about from Bb to Eb and he said he would go Bb>Ebdim>Bb7>Eb.

These were two of the key changes I need to modulate between so this was very helpful, but the question is.....is there a magic formula for modulating between key signatures?

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
29,583 Posts
All you really need is the bare minimum of a V7 chord of the key you are going into. Or, you can just slam into the new key with no modulating harmony.

That is the only real formula, but there are various ways to come up with short modulating sequences, but the actual chords would depend very much on the song and the key.

If you presume that all the tunes start and end on a tonic chord (which is not always the case) then life is a bit easier, as you can work backwards from the new key, often with a Im7 V7.

At this stage it's worth knowing various "turnarounds", see:

http://tamingthesaxophone.com/jazz-passing-chords.html

Then all you do is adapt them a bit.

Diminished chords are chord because they can often fit ambiguously into several keys, so take the typical turnaround in C:

C Ebº Dm7 G7 | C etc...