Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I've been playing my sax for 5 years, and alas, I have to give my current alto to my little brother. In turn, I may get a new sax :D , but I don't know if I should look into getting a new sax or a vintage one. I've tried a few makes and models, but I really haven't tried the vintage approach. I know that I'm not going to get a Cannonball, I've had a bad past with them, but I'm interested in yamaha and selmer yet. What should I expect for >$2000? I want a sax that I can play all the fun stuff on (big band, jazz, fusion, rock & roll) since I don't have to worry about classical, I play bassoon for concerts.

Thanks,
Jim

·
Distinguished SOTW Columnist / Forum Contributor 2
4,202 Posts
What are you playing on now?

The alto that all others have to measure up to in the world of vintage is the Selmer Mark VI. There's a host of other horns that play really well but won't cost as much as a VI. Of the new horns I really like the Yamaha 82Z alto. Others prefer the Reference 54. Others the Keilwerth SX-90's. Others love the B&S horns (if you can get one). Some are partial to the Yamaha 875. A lot of people play and love their Yamaha 62's.

The key is to play everything you can get your hands on and buy the one that you like the best. Then play it as much as you can.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I currently play on a Alto Evette Buffet Crampton, but I don't have a clue how old it is. I've looked around @ serial numbers but my sax's serial number is always higher than the ones listed. If I had to guess, I would say that the sax is just a student model from a decade ago, but I'd love to be proved wrong! I just checked my sax and the serial number is 551XXX

G

·