Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Seeker Of A Clever Title.
3,743 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I almost have enough money for a Buescher alto, and I will be going for the lacquered New Aristocrat that Junkdude has (I actually want to try out three, but I don't have enough money to purchase three at once). But, before I commit, I want to know if it will be hard going from my student Yamaha, which I've played since I started playing sax, to a 70-year-old vintage Buescher. Will there be any issues, like in intonation, or ergonomics? I've barely ever played on a vintage horn, except for when I blew on an improperly set up True-tone at a local Sam Ash for a couple of minutes. It was probably leaking like a sieve, and I was using a french style classical piece, so this really didn't give me a feel for the old horn. If there might be issues, how long would it usually take to get used to it? Would Junkdude's 7-10 day trial period be long enough? Thanks for answering.

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
Bueschers are known for their wonderful intonation. You should have no trouble there. I find buescher ergonomics very comfortable..you shouldn't have any problems.

Early next week I'm taking one of my horns to junkdude to get fixed. I planned on trying a few horns, so if you would like, I'll give the horn a test run and tell you what I think of it.

·
3,743 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
jacobeid said:
Bueschers are known for their wonderful intonation. You should have no trouble there. I find buescher ergonomics very comfortable..you shouldn't have any problems.

Early next week I'm taking one of my horns to junkdude to get fixed. I planned on trying a few horns, so if you would like, I'll give the horn a test run and tell you what I think of it.
That would be great, but with a small but generous grant from the 'rents, I may buy this tomorrow. But if I don't, it would be greatly appreciated if you could also try out the True-tones and the relacquered Big B.