Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I POSTED THIS IN THE SELMER FORUM AS WELL, JUST TO MAXIMIZE CHANCE OF KNOWLEDGEABLE MEMBERS SEEING IT AND RESPONDING.

I've been hunting a Mk VI from a "difficult" seller for 2 years.
I haven't seen it, just know the description.
That may end soon, with a specific price given. But the seller's personality will probably only allow a one-time opportunity, and I don't know very much about it since he's not a player.
So when he quotes me a price, I need to know whether it's a buy or not-buy situation right on the spot.
I know it's in the thousands, so it's not a bargain, I just need to know how many thousands.

Know: it's in very nice cosmetic condition. Pads look ok. Gold color (don't know if it's plated or lac). This is what someone has told me.

Don't know: if it's playable.
if it's low A or Bb
if it's orig finish
what serial number is
whether it has hi F#
SO....I've looked over ebay and can't see why some get hugely higher prices than others, even when basically the same vintage/cond..

I'm looking for the price parameters that boost or reduce the price.
Is low A or Bb the higher valued one? By how much?
Is high F# higher priced used? By how much? (or is this like altos where the rumor is that the F# adversely affects intonation)?
Are 5-digit sn's just as overpriced as on tenors? By how much?
Are there value tiers for the various serial number series (e.g. 5-digit, low 100,000's, mid 100,000's, hi 100,000's, low 200,000's, etc) and what premium would one pay for each?

I'm just trying to pick the brains/experience of those who really know the market so I'll say yes or no to the deal immediately.

He has hinted that $5000 will do it.
So if it's a gold-plated 5-digit low A in perfect playing/cosmetic condition, I know that's a done deal.
If it's a late-200,000's relac low Bb that needs alot of adjusting and has dents removed and resolders, then it's too high.