Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been asked to play in my step-son's dubstep/drum-n-bass live band and I need to somehow mike my sax. Can anyone advise the best way of going about this. Is a floor mike that I point it into the simplest way? Or should I look at attached mikes or pickups? I know little of these things as I am an acoustic musician. We also talked about having radio mikes so I could walk around the stage.

This project means that I will have to upgrade from my old Conn stencil and I'm still undecided whether I should go for vintage (and presumably low Bb) or new(ish) and low A. I have read the threads and am still baffled! Is there really any difference in low Bb/low A or is the bigger difference between modern and vintage? I like the idea of vintage as the ones I've tried seem more solid and better built and have a warmer sound. But I am not an expert and need lots and lots of advice.

Please help!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2009-
2,765 Posts
Miking a bari can be tricky. I've usually used a Shure 57 pointed down the bell; the results are adequate for my purposes. An attached mic is also going to be mounted on the bell and the results will probably be adequate as well. I don't know how it would be done in an actual studio situation but in videos of club dates, TV shows, and concerts you often see a mic stand and a guy playing the bari right into it.

I'd recommend you get one with a low A. A lot of people will say it makes the horn too heavy or ruins the sound. I don't buy that ... low A is pretty much expected in the arrangements I've come across lately. In most rock and blues settings the bari is mainly going to be working in the low register and being able to go down to a concert C is really useful.

·
Registered
15 Posts