Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm new to SOTW so I hope I posted this in the correct category.

I play alto and tenor sax and want to get into home recording. I play at an intermediate level and would be recording sax, other wind instruments, and some vocals. I've done a lot of research and from what I think, these mics will do the job:

Shure sm57
Blue Yeti
MXL 550/551r

I'm very new to recording so any suggestions are appreciated. I'd use a XLR-USB converter if I went with a XLR mic, so that I don't need a mixer. Garageband will be my DAW until I gain more experience.

In conclusion: Any suggestions as to the best way to home record sax, any mic suggestions, or info about those three mics and if they are the right choice.

Thank you in advance!

-Brad

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
29,167 Posts
I would just get the Blue Yeti, otherwise you'd wan to also get a decent analogue/digital converter. The Blue Yeti is very versatile and being USB is already digital.

Garage Band is great and will last you quite a while until you want something with a bit more features such as Logic.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Hey Brad, welcome to the forum

there's been a lot of discussion about this in various threads already. try searching.
but because I find searching a pain in the neck too, I'll recommend something as well :)

- for non-studio grade recording to garageband just get a simple USB mic. the yeti should work fine but there are probably cheaper solutions still. it keeps things nice and simple.
- sm57 (or 58) works fine as well, I've made some really nice recordings with those that actually ended up on CD. drawback is that (cheap) XLR to USB converters can cause latency (lag) in recording so that if you're playing over a track, everything comes in a bit late (latency is always there, but you want to try to keep that to a minimum).