Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Why does my sound not come through the board at gigs? I'm using a Sure Beta 98H, through a couple pedals(octave Boss OC-2 to a Line 6 Delay) and out to the board. This set up works at rehearsals with phantom power in front of the pedals, but at gigs I try to get phantom power through the board with no result( I do not phantom in front of my pedals)s, therefore I end up scrapping effects for the gig. Do I need to have phantom power in front of my pedals always? I had success with a direct box at a gig, so I bought one, but I can't get mine to work for me at other gigs. What connection am I missing? I'm very new to mics & pedals. I need answers please!

·
Registered
594 Posts
Yes you need phantom power to the mic BEFORE the pedals... they should not carry it at all.

Does the board have an FX loop for your channel?
The pedals could be connected to that, or you need to buy a stand-alone phantom power box (you can get them for under$50)

·
Registered
781 Posts
Pedals work with direct sound like guitars going directly in. These are line instruments and the volume is plenty. Microphones produce a much lower level which is why you are having a problem. You need to boost the signal with a mic preamp.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Any experience with a direct box? I used one at a gig where the sound guy plug me in. It worked great. I got the phantom power needed from the board.(?) The volume was excellent too. The next time i tried it at another club, no sound at all. What gives?

·
Registered
781 Posts
What gives is that you cannot rely on in-house audio gear to solve your technical issues. Buy a preamp for the reasons already explained. Then, everytime it will work.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
4,901 Posts