Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone every heard of Maxtone "French engineering" sopranos? How are they for a beginning soprano player? I've come across a like new one for $200, worth it?

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,837 Posts
Maxtone has both Chinese and Taiwanese saxophones, the latter being better an more expensive. Maxtone quality, definitely when it comes to the Chinese horns, of which I think this is an example, has been discussed several times and it is sketchy. Remember that , although possible, the words Cheap and Soprano hardly ever go well together. I wouldn't put much value onto the " French Engineering" words of qualification, it just means that it is a Chinese made copy of a French saxophone.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Right but for that price, and considering that's about my budget and I'm just beginning to play soprano (and only for classical quartet playing) is it a good deal? The other thing is that it's local so I can play it before I buy too.

·
38,837 Posts
always a good Idea to play before buying

·
38,837 Posts
Yeah agreed, so is there any way to tell if it's Taiwanese or Chinese made?
Let's see.......price? A cheap Maxtone is likely to be Chinese.

·
Administrator
13,985 Posts
With these budget priced sopranos, I would not even flirt with the idea of plopping down any money for them without being able to thoroughly play test the exact example you are contemplating buying with a good tuner by your side. Preferably with a few dependable mouthpieces as well.

Bad intonation is epidemic with these rock bottom soprano horns in particular.

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,569 Posts
Yeah agreed, so is there any way to tell if it's Taiwanese or Chinese made?