Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing baritone for over 20 years, so I'm no stranger to it (my primary horn). My baritones of choice for the past 15 years have been Conn 12m's.

Two weeks ago I got a Mauriat PMB-302. I love how it plays, the action, response, feel, look, etc. However, I'm having trouble getting the thing to play in tune. It is in tune with itself just fine, but overall the sax is flat. I can't see the neck cork anymore, and I'm still registering 10-20 cents flat on the tuner.

Has anyone else had this problem? Is it a known issue wth the Mauriats? Did I get a dud/lemon?

I've got two weeks left in my return period. If it's something I'm doing wrong, I'd love to know. My MP setup hasn't changed: Aaron Drake Contemporary Rollover baffle .120", Fibracell #4 reed, rover light lig. I've been on this setup for 2.5 yrs.

I figured it was probably due to me playing vintage baritones for so long, and that it would get better over time. But I haven't played the 12m in two weeks, and I've been playing the Mauriat every day...no improvement.

Frustrating!

·
Registered
864 Posts
I played Mauriat horns for a good stretch from 2007-2009. Loved the sound, but man, pitch was more challenging on those horns than ANY others I've played, new or vintage. Even my King Super 20 bari was more manageable.

·
Registered
3,769 Posts