Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to The Martin club having just picked up an early 50s Committee III and hoping the kind folks on the forum can help in explaining what exactly this is and if it's a common thing on these horns.

Okay ... This is disappointing ... Can't post pictures even though my manage attachments function indicates 0 out of 1.91MB used?! Upload error message states the file size is too large which seems odd given they are well below the limit and simple pics from my camera phone.

Anyways ... I'll try to describe the problem until I can resolve the photo issue ... It's a vertical line in the lacquer (lighter than the rest of the horn) that runs the front length of the bell and up to the lip (and actually inside the bell from what I can tell). It's probably only an 1/8 inch at its widest and tapers as it travels up towards the lip. Totally vertical, no waver horizontally, and at regular couple inch intervals imagine a female/male type break in the vertical line ... Like a little block on the left side of the line break that looks like it would fit into a gap of similar size on the right side of the line break. Not sure if any of this will make sense ... And I'll keep trying with the pics.

Thanks for your patience and any insights.

·
Registered
2,310 Posts
The pieces of a sax are formed by bending sheet metal and then furnace bracing the ends together so that it becomes a tube, or a bell or whatever. The "notches" are alignment features that facilitate the manufacturing process and avoid skew of one side against the other which would result in some crooked design, most importantly, completely negate the manufacturing tolerances. Just take a roll of toilet paper and cut the inner cylinder and then glue it back together and you'll see what I mean.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,431 Posts