Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Martins, I love my Martin stencil Tenor 26k.
I was wondering what The Martin Club thinks/feels the best years for a Martin Alto to play modern or smooth jazz.

Thanks in Advance!

Darrell

·
Banned
27 Posts
everyone says the "The Martin" Committee model is the best and but I prefer the pre-war Martin style design. To me, thats a real Martin.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,034 Posts
I would place the best as Magna or the Martin (1945-65) then the Committees, HC Imperial, Centennial, etc.(1935-43) and then the later Handcrafts: series III, Typewriter and Troubadour (1928-34). I have about 11 Martin altos and of the older ones, I would avoid the pre-1928 (below about 80,000) models (no front F or high C# adjuster) as the intonation is not that great. Go with one of the Comm. models if you can find one at a decent price. Most of the post 1935 horns are lacquered and they are known to look pretty bad. I found a nice 1961 original with good lacquer but there are very few out there. If you need a series III or Typewriter let me know as I have a few extra.

·
Administrator
13,985 Posts
My ranking is in line with Bruce's as well. I'm of the opinion that Martin never really made a substandard horn, but the Martin Committee and Magna horns are their all round best models IMO.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,766 Posts
Bob Ackerman, who is a connoisseur or Martin altos, claims that the last few years of The Martin and Magnas are the best of the lot. I guess that would be the mid-late '50s to around 1967. There were a few Magnas that had a silver neck.

I played Bob's favourite Magna alto, which is a motherfu**er!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Great Bloke.
2,968 Posts