Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I'm still somewhat new to this SOTW forum and I was wondering what makes the Mark VI soprano so great?

I'm concidering getting one soon so I would aprreciate all the info I gan get.

Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
I'm not so sure the Mark VI soprano is considered great. I think there are several others that are now preferred over the Mark VI. I believe the Yanigasawa is currently the one many claim is best. The vintage Bueschers and Conns are also prized pretty highly for their tone. At least on this forum, I don't see where a lot of experienced players are actively seeking to buy a Mark VI soprano.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
25,985 Posts
Hey I'm still somewhat new to this SOTW forum and I was wondering what makes the Mark VI soprano so great?
Usually, it's the player. Seriously though, they're fine, professional horns. Though not of the legendary status of the VI tenors, I still prefer them to Selmer's modern offerings.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,033 Posts
I have owned 3 of them and I don't consider them to be great, just good. I much prefer a Conn or Yanagisawa.

·
Registered
957 Posts
But it seems that many professionnal players (jazz & classical) play on Mark VI soprano (Marsalis, Sheppard ...)

·
Non Resident SOTW Eccentric & 2012 Forum Contribut
3,259 Posts
Most pro's at the top level would know how to get any of the pro level horns to physically function at the level they need.

IMO they choose instruments for sonic reasons and emotional reasons and financial reasons probably a lot like the rest of us.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,596 Posts
But it seems that many professionnal players (jazz & classical) play on Mark VI soprano (Marsalis, Sheppard ...)