Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a beautiful original Mark VI soprano, SN 268xxx. It's all original with the exception of 1 or 2 pads I had replaced when I bought the horn 20 years ago. The original lacquer is probably 98%. I'm not a pro player, but want this sax to be 100% its potential. I'm beginning to have trouble hitting some of the highs and lows. At >40 years old, I'm sure the pads have seen better days. I suspect they are beginning to leak. I'm playing in my daughter's wedding in November and am looking to put it perfect condition. This is were I'm looking for advice.

1. Should I simply have the pads replaced and everything adjusted/regulated OR should I go farther with it and have the tone holes all leveled?

2. Should I have my local shop do the work or send it to one of the more renowned technicians? My local shop is Buddy Rogers in Cincinnati. Yesterday I dropped it off for inspection by Scott Snyder. From what I understand, they have an excellent reputation, but can I expect them to have the expertise to make this horn to be 100%? I've been watching Matt Stohrer's videos and would love to have someone like that go over my horn. But, is that really necessary on a horn still in excellent condition? Besides, I understand he's not taking new clients.

What would you recommend and who would you recommend I have do it?

·
Banned
825 Posts
There's a difference between a pad job and a mechanical rebuild. Many of the local shops say they do a rebuild and charge you for it & then just do a pad job. That being said, some of the major shops might tell you your horn needs a rebuild when you don't need it.

If the horn has sealed well in the past (aside from just needing a couple pads that were worn), then why would you need to mess with the tone holes?
A good shop would check the tone holes anyway when they get the horn disassembled.