Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
761 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering what type of tone quality mark VI's typically have; are they dark or bright?, smooth or edgy?, etc. I mainly play classical music, and would like to know if they are well suited for that.

·
SOTW Administrator
26,204 Posts
When I earned my Bachelor of Music (in saxophone) in 1980, the majority of players were playing MkVI and a smattering of VIIs and Yamahas.

It's more about sound concept, and less about the actual horn.

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
They are all over the place. You'd probably be better off looking for a newer Selmer rather than a VI for classical. Or some other brand.

·
Registered
472 Posts
So the answer is...yes.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,127 Posts
VI's are perfectly fine to use in a classical setting (although you didn't mention if you're asking about an alto, tenor, etc).

But in regard to bright/dark etc., the real question is in comparison to what?

If you stick one side by side with an old Martin, the verdict would likely be different than if you were to put one side by side with a Yamaha.

·
Registered
476 Posts
According to assessments that I've read from knowledeable dealers, Mark VI's are darker than Series III's, but not as dark as the Reference horns.

As far as use for classical, I got my degree in Saxophone with a Mark VI. Back then ('60's) nobody considered anything else very seriously.

Conventional wisdom back then was that the French assembled Selmers were set up quite differently than the American ones; the French ones having a more delicate sound, the American ones more robust. Whether or not that is true, I would think that the old horns have been maintained now to the point where there's not any real difference.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,205 Posts
A Mark VI will do anything you ask of it. It will sound as bright or dark as you want.
Just remember to say please. :)

·