Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up a late silver plated Mark VI alto for about 2000usd today. Needs a complete overhaul and the neck tenon fixing but figured I was unlikely I would lose money on it in any case. I don't have any experience with silver plated horns and was wondering if anyone could let me know wether the finish is original.

Photos are here:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1M0E_l7DDW48g2TOJ3qWiS0QiT9tVTS8Z

Any other info welcome.

Thanks

·
Registered
5,474 Posts
Well, I'm not going to sign in to look at a picture but all the silver plated Mark 6s I've seen (not that many) are a bright finish, not matte like the older US horns.

Is there some reason why you question whether the finish is original? As far as I know although it wasn't all that common, silver plate was always offered by Selmer (I am by no means an expert on Selmer saxes).

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician.
3,206 Posts
Looks original to me. Original finish is more of an issue with relacquers as it was commonplace to relacquer as part of an overhaul and instruments got over-buffed.

The one in the pics has had a knock to the low D# post. It may need a bit of work to get it in good order.

·
Registered
1,313 Posts
The only aspect that looks possibly unoriginal is the bell to bow bracing--is it me or are the little vertical lines buffed out and shallow? Could also just be the lighting.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,878 Posts
Replating , in silver, any horn would be a very expensive operation and fill all the parts like serial numbers and engraving (unless they are recut afterwards), besides, some folks hold the wrong impression that silver plate finish does something to the sound so plating a non plated horn would be detrimental to value.