Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's been difficult trying to survive in a musician in France. Much to my surprise, it--

--wait, no, wait a minute... I haven't tried living in France yet. I haven't been to France. In fact, for my entire life, I've never been farther east than Las Vegas.

Right. So what I meant to do, in all honesty, was to impose upon those of you who have traveled (and, ideally, performed) abroad a simple question. How do saxophonists fair in France? My gut tells me it isn't too much different than it is here in the States, but I'm really curious. To be completely honest, though I am only a modest musician at the age of 20, I plan on doing some extensive traveling within the next year. I'm really not all too fond of the United States, and I will be actively considering places I might like to live in later in life. However, I would also like to consider persuing my dream of being a jazz musician.

Seeing and hearing some of the great musicians from France and British Isles here on these forums really gets my hopes up. So... what's it like? Is it difficult? Are gigs so scant that musicians are fighting over them, or is there any fair amount of demand for the genre whatsoever? I'm looking for less of a comparison to the United States and more of a subjective point of view from your experiences.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
From a German perspective? Based on your sound clips I would say you would not be able to make a living playing jazz here at this time in your development. Later? I don't know. For jazz gigs competition is very stiff.