Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The G key in my curved soprano was not comfortable.
How to make it more comfortable?
I thought: "Do it yourself"!
---
Since I started playing my Bauhaus-Walstein curved soprano, I've been quite satisfied.
But it soon turned out that one key - G key - is not very ergonomic for me, the G key is in the wrong place for me. My left ring finger was in the wrong position on it, the finger must have been unnaturally bent or ... it stuck out beyond the key too much and it have tendency to slip off, key edge cut into the fingertip. I also felt that it was a little too small. Not comfortable for me.
In tenor, alto, straight soprano and another cuved soprano I didn't have these problems - they were all comfortable, well positioned. So, I decided to make the G key of Bauhaus-Walstein curved soprano just as comfortable as in my other saxophones.
I didn't want to replace or cut the lever / key. I thought and decided to shape a special profile of two-component epoxy putty in black (the black color goes well with a few black elements in this saxophone). I chose modeling putty, as it's drying process is long enough to shape the right shape and after drying it is very hard.
I decided that the changes must be reversible, they should not destroy / damage nor the lever, nor the key with pearl inlay.
---
What was the goal:
- to enlarge / extend the G key
- to add a profile that causes the finger will not have a tendency to slip.
So:
- I removed the G key lever
- I wrapped the G lever (and button) with black tape, precisely securing, so that you can cut off the tape fragment around key (around cup edge and pearl inlay at the end of work - after shaping, drying and sanding)
- I formed a "croissant" with two party epoxy putty