Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I just got a new Yamaha Custom 875 B stock form WWBW. The low notes warble when they come out. I can hold a straight pitch on them, but if I try to add vibrato, the low notes warble and mess up. Whats wrong with the horn? Does it need repadded? Its and Alto. Other than that I love the horn. I can get the low notes to come out with vibrato if Im playing really loudly, but not at a soft dynamic. Can you guys help? Thanks

·
Registered
17 Posts
Not quite sure if I'm right, because i'm not an expert, but it could be your embouchure. That happened to a lot of student models i played, but not on any intermediate or pro models. (Maybe because my embouchure was more developed when i got my pro sax). Or it could be your reed, or it could be that your pads dont cover up all of the hole.

Edit: I think i found the answer, i was practicing and i noticed my low B warbled sometimes. So I tried different methods of playing it and I think... that you might be blowing to hard. When I blew a steady, slower airstream, it was no longer warbling. Hope this helps!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
2,666 Posts
Here are some things that come to mind....

1. Check for pad leaks.

2. More breath support and long tone practice (as Ritchie mentioned). In particular, practice long tones and slow passages in the low register softly. It's easy to blast out a low Bb. But, playing it SOFTLY and with really good control is another matter.

3. Check for mouthpiece tip opening and reed strength match. That is, if you're using stiff reeds with a more open mouthpiece you might have a harder time getting the low register to speak easily.