Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys, I am a sophomore in college and i am in the jazz band. My whole life I was an alto sax player. I was pretty good. I was an all state alto player throughout my high school years. For jazz band this year I decided to switch it up and play tenor. For some reason. When i play any note from about middle g and below, the notes always want to play an octave above and it sounds airy. I gotta play the notes relatively loud for the notes to come out properly but I have to play softly with the section. Almost every time I articulate one of these low notes it plays an octave above. I never had these issues playing alto. Is this something I just have to adjust to because it's a tenor? Or is it a problem with the horn itself? Im using a daddario select jazz mouthpiece, m/o lig, select jazz 3S, super action tenor.

I also add that my alto is a YAS 62

Thanks!

·
Registered
110 Posts
Make sure the body octave key is closing properly, the octave mechanism changes from the neck octave pip to the body octave pip between A & B. You may have a spring in the mechanism that has become unseated.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Reactions: stomias

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Make sure the body octave key is closing properly, the octave mechanism changes from the neck octave pip to the body octave pip between A & B. You may have a spring in the mechanism that has become unseated.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
I have a rubber band on the octave mechanism on the neck and theres still issues. Would a rubber band solve this potential problem?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
Super Action 80 Tenor, Buescher 156 Tenor, Yamaha Vito YAS-21 , Kessler Soprano, Superba II Bari
4,947 Posts
I have a rubber band on the octave mechanism on the neck and theres still issues. Would a rubber band solve this potential problem?