Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm hoping someone can help me out! I got my soprano out of its case today after about a month or so of non-use and after a little playing noticed that the low Bb has a tendency to sound up the octave, and I have to put a lot of effort into getting it to sound at the correct pitch. I've been playing sop for a few years now and have never had this problem before, it hasn't been to the technician for a while, so I'm suspecting it's a leak somewhere? From about a low E downwards the notes sound a bit "stuffy", just not quite normal, and the low C and Bb are virtually non-playable; at least at the correct pitch.

Any ideas guys?

Cheers,
Sam

·
Registered
860 Posts
IMO, you have the right idea about the problem - this seems like a leak, I'd say somewhere around F, F# or G (or even G#), but that's really just guessing from what you say. Do you have a leak light to check? For the lower parts, a bright flashlight in a dark room may work, too (but never as well as a incertable leak light).

Maybe the case received some kind of hit or shock - at the right (or wrong, respectively) angle that could be enough to get something out of whack...

M.

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician
1,863 Posts
Sam

It sounds like you have a leak somewhere. It could be anywhere on the sax so what you can to is to play the sax and get someone else to press on the key cups ( the bits with the pads inside them) individually to see if you can locate the leak.

It could be that a spring on one of the sprung shut keys is loose and the pad it is meant to keep closed is opening slightly.

A likely candidate to try first could be your low Eb.

Best to get it to your tech to get it sorted as you could be going round in circles

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses guys, shall take it down to my tech as soon as possible, hopefully get it sorted quickly!

·
Banned
585 Posts