Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

so, I started playing sax almost one year ago and at first I was very motivated. Now I feel im losing the will to play and I practice only every second day for a half an hour. I feel that the way of practicing and the songs that instructor is giving me to play which im not familiar with, do not encourage me. I think for now I just want to be playing some famous tunes and covers, as nooby as it sounds.

We are using a book called SCHOTT JAZZMETHODE SAX.

Do you think I should try to stick with the system or should I play what I enjoy playing.?

Can you maybe suggest me some good book for beginners that contains more familiar songs?

Thanks,

Rok

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,937 Posts
Yeah, I hear you. I just wanted to learn to cliff dive - swimming is so boring...

·
Registered
860 Posts
Why not do both (stick with the method and play some well-known easy tunes)? I don't know the Schott book, but it appears to offer good value for money from what I can glean from the web. But it's geared towards jazz (the title really says it all), and the concept in itself is quite ambitious... I can imagine that it's not all fun (but then, practise never is - that's part of the plan, really).

I personally think that the Saxmania! books (Google them) are a good source for simple yet worthwhile sheet music; if you like pop, rock or jazz (or standards - a mix of everything) is for you to decide. The books are inexpensive and also offer simple chords for accompaniment; no play alongs, though. I've even used them as a base for some minimalistic gigs (birthday dinner background...) with a bassist/drummer - worked pretty well.

But if you want to develop yourself as a player, you shouldn't avoid the hard work... The more you do, the better (as long as you don't do it wrong).

M.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks,