Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,587 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked this up last week off of the local Craig's List...ironically, the seller lived about 2 blocks away from me although I did not know him.

It is simply engraved ;Artist' on the bell.

The keywork looks very 'Buescher-like' to me and in general it looks like an Aristocrat. There are a few elements that don't seem to match up to an Aristocrat though.

I am not a Buescher expert at all. I have never owned an Aristocrat before.

Can any of the Buesher-ites out there help me identify this old Alto ?

The serial number is only 5 digits - 27XXX and there is no evidence of a 6th number ever having been there.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,813 Posts
That looks much like a Buescher. The G# cluster looks like what was found on the "New Aristocrat" horns; the detailing of the wire on the bell key guards looks like Buescher; amber rollers like B. Probably a Buescher stencil with the body patterned the Aristocrat or an earlier horn.

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician.
3,205 Posts
Yep, Buescher built. My experience of Buescher stencils is that they aren't built as well as Buescher branded saxes so I wouldn't pay too much. They do still sound nice though.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,993 Posts
Yep, Buescher built. My experience of Buescher stencils is that they aren't built as well as Buescher branded saxes so I wouldn't pay too much. They do still sound nice though.
Mmmmm....but most B stencils are the Elkhart-ish 20A/30A variety.

This one isn't one of those. As Hornlip notes, this has an interesting combo of elements of a higher-shelf horn than those.....

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts