Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm a college freshman studying music comp and I've been playing Alto for a little over seven years. I recently had a pit orchestra gig and I had to borrow a Tenor sax to play some bass clarinet parts. The other guy brought me an early '50's Dolnet Tenor. A little out of adjustment and needed some work but it played great. Since then I've had the bug to get a tenor. I had a soprano sax during high school, but it was a school horn and the only soprano sax they had, so when I graduated earlier this year I had to return it. I have a lot of stuff written for soprano too, so it'd be pretty cool to be able to adjust some parts so I can play it on tenor. There are also many other reasons to have a tenor than that, obviously.

Anyway, I've been looking around for tenors, and the other guy from whom I borrowed the Dolnet suggested that Bundy's are great horns that don't go out of adjustment. He also commented that he has a great Conn from the '20's that is very "free blowing". But seeing as these are generally student horns (I could be wrong), I don't know if I should go for one of those or if I should just go to the local music store and do a rent-to-own for a YTS-875 like I did for my alto.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
Well there are many things to consider when looking for a horn. The best piece of advice I can give you is go to your local music store and try every brand you can get your hands on. You will get a variety of opinions on here most of which will be people telling you to buy what they play, which may not be the best for you. The Bundy is a basic student model, as a collage freshman I think you would want to step up a little. Also, I disagree with your friend, all horns will and do go out of adjustment from time to time. Anyway, that's my opinion. Try all the different brands and buy the one you like the most.

·
Registered