Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I would like to know if someone has an idea of a European Conservatory or a School with a Bachelor or Master program that will receive an adult of 36 years old.

I am from Mexico and I recently decided to move to Europe to learn Jazz in a professional way since after graduating and working as a lawyer, I want to give a big switch at my life, and become a full time serious musician.

I have been practicing and studying Jazz on my own and had several online and private courses. But I believe that the big change will be achieved after I dedicate full time to study and then, full time making and playing music. Why Europe? My wife is from Spain, and that will make it easier to deal with.

Any suggestions?

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
Very, very difficult. All of the state schools I know of have maximum age limits and I believe they are well below 36.

You might check with the Jazz and Rock Schule Freiburg http://www.jrs.org/de/ The last I checked I was ineligible but I'm older than you. Also, this is a private school so some of the requirements are different. Phil Barone's brother, Gary, is an instructor there, BTW.

There used to be a private jazz school in Amsterdam but I'll be darned if I can remember its name. Maybe one of our Dutch members can provide it. Also, I don't know just what quality it is. As I remember, this school was set up to cater to folks with other jobs or commuters and I don't think there was an age limit.