Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3,019 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i've been using the oleg high e stopper for years now and its been incredible, I just love it. After watching a video of Ben Wendel recently, who i always thought was using the e stopper as well, I noticed that he is actually using the set of 3 risers on the high e, trill c and side Bb keys. I've never tried this part before and I feel as thought it might feel strange to have risers on those keys. Has anyone tried this set of 3 before or is anyone currently using this on their horn? Would love to hear some reviews if anyone has tried it, thanks!

·
Registered
773 Posts
Yeah, those risers are clearly visible in the photo on the home page of his website. I only use the high E stopper, so I can't help with reviewing the other two (2). Although, through the years, I've seen guys add cork to those key in order to raise them. So for some, as with Wendel, raising them seems to work well.

·
Registered
173 Posts
I've got a few Oleg products on my Mark VI alto and am very happy with them. I have larger hands so I've put the Oleg skyscraper palm key risers on as well as the side key risers you've mentioned. I like that they fit on very secure, blend in well to the instrument as if they belong there, and are not permanent. I don't expect to have to change saxophones but it is still nice to be able to remove them if needed.