Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are there any teachers or schools in Westchester or the Bronx who offer affordable lessons for low-income adult learners?

So far I've looked at a few music schools and the prices are a complete fantasy for me -- I also haven't been able to find many private instructors in the area.

I played alto 5 years in lower and middle school, and baritone for four years in high school.

In my early twenties I studied for a year at a music academy in Brussels, Belgium while working professionally. I was also part of a community band "Jour de Fête".

Since then I've moved out of Belgium and trying to practice on my own for the past two years has been difficult without a teacher and without a community to keep me motivated.

Recently -- just this summer -- I moved back to downstate New York.

If you'd be interested in working something out, I'd love to hear from you.

Thanks for reading,

themudman

·
Registered
932 Posts
Slim pickings I’m afraid.
I asked on here a while back and got a few names but all pretty $$$.
I wouldn’t mind the cost if i got great stuff out of it, but the last guy I tried to use in Westchester had a teaching style that did not click.
It seems like its either lessons for students (kids) or very high priced pros.
The guy I used was $100/hr, broadway musician, very knowledgeable, but super technical and he wasn’t able to figure out what level i was at and hot to teach to me.
If you find anyone, regardless of price, let me know.
They sure don’t seem to advertise well around here, if they exist.

·
Registered
932 Posts
That’s what I have reverted to, but now feel like I would benefit greatly from in person lessons.
I think I finally know what I want to seriously work on and life would be better.
Online stuff is great but want feedback in person.