Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm in the market for a new alto piece that I will use primarily for jazz. My current setup is a modern Soloist C** with Rico Jazz 3H reeds. Its the only mouthpiece I've been using for the past 6 months for all the idioms I play in (jazz, rock, concert band, solo work) and I can usually find a suitable sound with it just by changing reeds.

Lately however, I've been finding my sound to be too dull in certain situations, especially big band. So, I want a mouthpiece that will provide me with a little more brightness, edge, and projection than my Soloist allows. I will be keeping the Soloist for concert band and solos, but its just not cutting it in the other settings.

I would like a mouthpiece that is versatile enough to be used for lead alto work, small combo settings, and also the oldies rock band that I play in. What would you suggest I order for a trial? I've been considering:

Drake (not sure which model)
JodyJazz (HR? DVNY?)
Various Vandorens
Phil-Tone Custom Meyer

Going to a store to try things isn't an option for me right now. I'm sort of marooned on campus until the semester ends. So, I figured I'd order things on trial...I'd rather it be something I can get sooner rather than later, which is why RPC isn't on the list.

Oh, I'd also like advice on what tip opening to get. I'd like to move up a bit, but I'm not sure by how far an increment.

I'd appreciate any advice you all can give me.
Thanks!

·
Registered
568 Posts
Here is a chart that may help you with tip openings. http://www.jodyjazz.com/facings.altosax.html