Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm by no means a beginner, but I am in need of a professional saxophone. I'm a freshman in college, majoring in music and taking alto sax lessons for the first time (I've been playing alto for 8 years) on the vito alto I got in fifth grade. My teacher said that I needed to get a new one, and soon, as even he can't get the low b-flat to make noise.

I was told by him to find a yamaha, and I'm looking at a YAS-6211 ($2260 is pretty steep for a college student) and a friend told me to get a jupiter (his was $1600, and I found one on sale for $1300). So I guess my question is, which would be best to buy? Which would be a better investment, and which is just better in general? Also, if anyone knows of another type of alto that is cheaper, but still a good choice? I am a broke college student, after all, and the thousand dollar projections make me sad. Or if anyone knows of anyone who's selling a used professional grade alto, that would be cool too.

Thank you! :D

·
Banned
1,611 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum,
There are a lot of good choices out there for less than 2k in this buyer's market. I am selling a great horn on ebay right now that is going to go for less than 1k all day long.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vito-France...812?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a13e80784

Here is one more from our forum:

http://forum.saxontheweb.net/showthread.php?166390-FS-Yanagisawa-A-901-Alto-Saxophone

Believe me, you can find many many more. If you need help looking at one that has piqued you're interest, let me know. I have a decent eye. Ebay horns can either be great or terrible. Don't buy new!! unless you like paying more and taking a 1k loss the second you leave the music store.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts