Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good day everyone,

I've been playing my selmer USA low A baritone for a couple of years now but unfortunately i've had some problems with it and because i have to be able to trust it to not fail on me on stage i am looking for another one. Now i've come across this one: System'54 Superior Class Baritonsax Pure Brass DEMO : SaxCompany.nl

Now i would like your opinion on this brand and would like to hear whether anyone has experience with this brand. I use my baritone sax in an orchestra and in a pop/funk/rock coverband. I know this is asking quite a lot of an instrument but on my Selmer USA i could make it work, quite well even i believe.

Thank you for your responses.

·
Registered
Alto: Buescher Aristocrat 1937, Tenor: Yanagisawa T880, Bari: Martin Committee III 1948
173 Posts
Never heard of them. i have a taiwanese bari which does the job well enough, but i do count the days that i cant get a classic american or a yani. you seem to need something which is flexible- hence the suggestion of the yani or yamaha. With your budget, i would be looking at a second hand one of those

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
41,403 Posts
System 54 is a Taiwanese brand, not mysterious on not Chinese, they are importend from a German/Dutch importer and are actually very well thought of in both countries.
I am not sure what kind of model @cp0811 he has , Selmer USA baritone low A may mean a Buescher horn but it may also mean something else .
Whatever it has can be fixed

why would it fail you? What happened?
Show us a picture. Tell us what happened.

Anyway A System 54 would be a good horn, Magenta Winds too, abut your horn ( if indeed a rebranded Buescher) only needs some qualified attention and that can be acquired at the price of an overhaul and in the end would be cheaper.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·