Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am completely new to using software in my practice. When you want to

• practice to tracks made by yourself and others and being able to adjust tempo and key

• record yourself playing sax together with a prerecorded song

What could be the best choice of the alternatives Logic and Band-in-a-Box?

What could be said about differences in purpose and maybe more about these products?

I would be very grateful for help on getting an understanding of how to think when choosing the right product. I'm a bit confused at this time.

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2012-2015
5,903 Posts
I personally don't know about Logic, so I really can't compare the two, but Band-in-a-Box is a great choice, if you purchase it with the Real Tracks option, which is very, very realistic. It's what I use all the time, anyway, and it's a great way to keep you motivated too.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
5,092 Posts
I don't know if you can do recording with Band In A Box. I would say, using the MIDI functions in Logic, you can spend a few years learning to get about 70% of the realism you're after programming everything yourself with the included synths and samplers (though this is far from ideal for jazz!), or use Band In A Box to get about 50% of the way to a realistic band sound in the time it takes to install the program. For tracks to practice along with, I'd go with BIAB if it records audio. For extensive MIDI track production, audio recording and production that is among the top in the industry, then Logic is the clear choice of the two you mentioned. To me it's a no-brainer!

·
Forum Contributor 2015, SOTW Better late than neve
4,273 Posts
Logic is for multi-track recording and production. It's very in-depth and full featured. I have it but now rarely use it because I prefer Garage Band's simpler interface. Logic is likely much more than you'll need.