Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been playing soprano and tenor for many years and have a strong individual tone on both.

Soprano - sweet, masculine, in tune - Damn it Jim, it's a saxophone, NOT a clarinet, oboe, recoder, kazoo, etc. Wouldn't change a thing.

Tenor - NOT sweet. Big Texas Tenor. Dark, raspy, growls on it's own. That's my tenor tone concept over there in the 'avatar' window. Would like a bit more 'space' in the tone, but not at the expense of what is already there.

Alto - I'm pretty sure I've got one somewhere down in the music room.​

Anyway, I played baritone for a while in a blues band and had no problem getting that vintage Conn room-shaking low register. I'm not sure I ever even played anything in the second octave, though.

Now I'm (temporarily?) playing bari in the big band and in at least some places I get to do more than punch the low notes. I find that when I first pick up the horn, this wonderful Muliganesque sound comes out of the 2cd octave, that almost multiphonic sound with the low fundamental, the higher overtones, and sort of a hollow, 'woody' middle.

The problem is that the tone is not locked in, and the more I work on it and related things like dynamic range, intonation, etc., the more it cleans up toward a generic sax tone. If I take a break for a while and come back the tone comes back, at least until I start to concentrate on it again.

Obviously the problem is in my brain (yes, several places...), but mainly unconciously my ears and lips are trying to cleanup the sound. It seems to be the reverse of the typical problem, though, as the sound I want is there. But the usual methods of locking it in (e.g. long tones) seem to be counterproductive.

Anyone ever run into a similar problem?

bari - 1927 Conn New Wonder II 208,xxx Otto Link Metal 8*, Hemke/Rico Royal #3
tenor - 1972 MKVI, Otto Link Metal 7*, Hemke/Rico Royal # 3